top of page


A warm-hearted thank you to the supporters and people who have brought this conference to life.

Prof. Andrew Parfitt, UTS Vice-Chancellor and President

Prof. Carl Rhodes, Dean, UTS Business School
Prof. Kathy Walsh, Associate Dean, UTS Business School

The Hon. Prof. Verity Firth AO, former Pro Vice-Chancellor (Social Justice & Inclusion), UTS
Amy Persson, Interim Pro Vice-Chancellor (Social Justice & Inclusion), UTS

Conference Chair: Professor Anne Summers AO
Creative Director: Libby Blainey
Saturday Program Director: Thomas Shortridge
Conference Producer: Nicolette Hughes
Conference Coordinator: Christine Howard
Conference Photographer: Lorrie Graham

Academic stream organisers: Dr Jane Wangmann, Dr Mihajla Gavi and Dr Celina McEwen


  • The Hon. Jodie Harrison MP, NSW Government. Minister for Women, Minister for Seniors, and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

  • Department of Social Services

  • The Snow Foundation

  • Commonwealth Bank

  • Australian Banking Association

  • Welfare Recruitment Solutions

  • Ashurst Legal

  • Minter Ellison

Conference steering committee:

  • Maha Abdo OAM, CEO, Muslim Women Australia

  • Sarah Angus, Senior Advancement Manager, UTS

  • Annabelle Daniel OAM, CEO, Women’s Community Shelters

  • Delia Donovan, CEO, DV NSW

  • Louise Gardner, Team Manager, Operations and Members, DV NSW

  • Terrianne Hughes, Aboriginal Manager, DV West

  • Rowena Puertollano, Chair, Marnja Jandu Refuge, Broome

  • Professor Anne Summers AO, Professor of Domestic and Family Violence

  • Fiona Versey, Manager, Strategic Partnerships and Advocacy, UTS Centre for Social Justice & Inclusion

  • Professor Kathy Walsh, Associate Dean (Research and Development), UTS Business School

Data Arena time tunnel:

  • Ben Simons, Technical Director, UTS Data Arena 

  • Juliette O’Brien OAM, UTS Lecturer in Data and Entrepreneurial Journalism

  • Thomas Ricciardello, Data Arena Visualisation Developer

  • Dr Merri Andrew, Health Promotion & Research Officer, Women’s Centre for Health Matters

  • Aman Dalal

  • James Wagner

  • Jonathan Weitz-Freeman

  • Olivia Bui

  • Georgia Robinson

  • Erin Hee

  • Krutika Kale

  • Ava Camillos

Jessie Street Library poster exhibition: 

  • Christine Yeats, Chair, Jessie Street National Women’s Library

  • Sherri Hilario, Secretary, Jessie Street National Women’s Library

  • Stella McDonald, Curator and Manager, UTS Gallery and Art Collection

  • National Library of Australia. 

Oral History Project:

  • Emma McNicoll – interviewer

  • Sarah Gilbert, Executive Producer, Impact Studios, UTS 

  • Interviewees:  Sara Dowse; Christina Gibbeson; Penny Gulliver; Alex Kaufman; Vivien Johnson; Kris Melmouth; Pamela Oldmeadow; Chris Sitka; Anne Summers

Rebecca Whalen, Mika Bell, Jenny Ling, Sarah Angus, Fiona Versey, Amy Grady

In-kind website and comms support for Elsie Conference
Georgia Nielsen and Caterina Giugovaz

Thank you to our sponsors and supporters!

Commbank Logo 2_edited.jpg

Proudly Supported by

CommBank Next Chapter

Snow Foundation_edited.jpg
NSW Government_edited_edited_edited.jpg
Inkfield Logo.png
bottom of page